Thursday, January 13, 2011

Farmers Eligible for Disaster Assistance

Clark County farmers and ranchers are eligible to apply for federal disaster assistance for agricultural losses due to the heavy rains and cold temperatures this last Spring, starting in April 2010.

This week the secretary of agriculture issued a disaster designation for 20 counties in Washington, including Clark, Cowlitz, Skamania, and Wahkiakum counties. This designation allows agricultural producers to apply for emergency loans on favorable terms. Producers with crop insurance or Non-insured Crop Disaster Assistance Program (NAP) coverage for their economically significant crops may apply for direct payments under Supplemental Revenue Assistance Payment (SURE) program.

Interested farmers and ranchers may contact the FSA office at (360)883-1987 ext. 2 or the FSA loan staff in the Lewis County office at (360)748-0083 ext. 2 for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for emergency loans and other programs. Additional information is also available online.

No comments: